Corp News

Lahiri’s life changing landmark victory at the Maybank Malaysian Open 2015

08 February 2015

4 min read

Kuala Lumpur, 8 February 2015 – From ‘Q’ School on the European Tour to top forty in the world in less than six months, it has been a life changing experience that Anirban Lahiri will never forget.

The excitement of the finishing was exhilarating as it became a race between Weisberger, Lahiri and Waring encapsulated with Lahiri’s incredible 40 feet putt for birdie on 17 to take him to sixteen under par (-16) which was matched by Weisberger, who was one flight behind but whose superb wedge shot on seventeen gave him a birdie before his vital putt on the last to force a playoff was 6 inches short to give Lahiri the win that will change his life. Waring’s day finished with his first score over par of the week at 73 to take 3rd position tied with Canizares who also could not match his earlier score and finished with a 74 tied in 2nd place.

Attributing his win to the power of positive thinking and a hugely supportive team, Lahiri who is the second Indian after Arjun Atwal (2003 and 2008) to win the coveted Seagram’s Trophy finally summed up the feelings of all present when he received his prize from the Malaysian Prime Minister and expressed his thanks to all those who had contributed to the hugely successful 10th edition of the Maybank Malaysian Open. “This is a very special win, even though it’s my sixth win but it is my first on the European Tour,” said the proud winner of the Maybank Malaysian Open 2015.

Whilst Weisberger faltered with a double bogey on the par 5 fifth hole to stay in the lead at seveteen under par (-17), Lahiri followed a bogey on the nine with a birdie on ten to come within one off the lead at sixteen under par (-16) with Waring breathing down his neck at fifteen under par (-15) after a birdie on ten. As Canizares started the day in second position, he faltered with three bogies on the front nine and two more on 10 and 11 which took him back to ten under par (-10) with five holes to play, finally completing his week on thirteen under par (-13).

Crowd favourite, Graeme McDowell finished with a 75 and could not regain the form of the first day which led him to end the tournament at two under par (-2), tied 36th.

Defending champion Lee Westwood who started the day at fourteen under par (-14) had a double bogey on his second and could only manage his first birdie of the final round at the 16th before finally finishing with at three over par (+3) for the day tied in 5th position.

Meanwhile, Malaysian hope, Danny Chia lost his momentum after a bogey on nine and a double bogey on thirteen which took him back to five under par (-5) and finally finished with his second 74 of the week to be tied at 25th position at four under par (-4) and was awarded the Best Malaysian with compatriot Gavin Green who had his best round of the tournament with eight birdies of which six were coming home at 32 and was awarded the tournament’s award for the Best Amateur. Sukree Othman on the other hand, could not maintain his form of the previous three days and finished at four over par (+4) with a final 76 after 3 bogies and a double bogey in his first nine holes. R. Nachimuthu maintained his score with an even par front nine before completing with a 77.

This year, golfers are battling for more than bragging rights as Maybank have upped the ante to mark its milestone tenth (10th) year as the event’s title sponsor. Strengthening its long-standing commitment as one of the oldest national Opens in the region, Maybank increased the prize purse for 2015 to US$3 million, up from the previous US$2.75 million in 2014. The tournament took place at the Kuala Lumpur Golf and Country Club from the February 5th to the 8th.

In addition to world ranking, points earned at the Maybank Malaysian Open will contribute to the Asian Tour Order of Merit and will also count towards European Tour’s Race to Dubai 2015.

Over the years the Maybank Malaysian Open has attracted world-class golfers who have made their mark with performances by the likes of Rory Mcllroy, Louis Oosthuizen, Martin Kaymer and Charl Schwartzel joining the field of play here.