Corp News

KLGCC to host Maybank Malaysian Open 2014

24 January 2014

4 min read

KLGCC to host Maybank Malaysian Open 2014

KUALA LUMPUR (DATE): The prestigious Maybank Malaysian Open will once again return to the Kuala Lumpur Golf and Country Club (KLGCC), this time from April 17-20, 2014 and with local hopes at an all-time high.

A year after amateur Gavin Kyle Green returned the best score among Malaysians with a six-under 210 and a tie for 22nd in the rain-shortened tournament, there is renewed enthusiasm that a Malaysian could finally land the big one very soon.

Their path to glory, however, will not be easy as many big names have made Malaysia a regular destination in their itinerary and the locals will certainly have to pull out all the stops to emerge champion.

Last year, former world No. 1 Luke Donald headlined the Maybank Malaysian Open against a competitive field which included Major winners Charl Schwartzel and Padraig Harrington – and the results showed just how players have to be at the top of their game to make the birdies at the KLGCC.

The player who was at his best was young Thai Kiradech Aphibarnrat, who delivered a sizzling performance to outplay his more illustrious rivals and wrest the coveted crown.

Kiradech’s brilliant performance earned him US$458,330 and that helped him to eventually win the Asian Tour’s Order of Merit with earnings of US$1,127,855.

Speaking on the forthcoming Maybank Malaysian Open, Tan Sri Megat Zaharuddin Megat Mohd Nor, commented, “Maybank made a firm commitment to propel Malaysian golf to a higher standards when we first supported the Maybank Malaysian Open in 2006. Our primary aim was to bring the best of international golf competition to Malaysia to enable this and we have consistently done this over the years.

“The Maybank Malaysian Open jointly sanctioned by the European and Asian Tours boasts the largest Asian participation of 67 out of the 156 player field and it has been instrumental in accelerating many Asian champions into the world golf ranking positions.

“This, together with our commitment in development programmes at the amateur and junior levels has helped many local and Asian golfers to thrive.”

Since taking up the title sponsorship nine years ago, Maybank has successfully attracted high-calibre golfers from around the world such as Rory McIIroy, Louis Oosthuizen, Martin Kaymer, Charl Schwartzel, Padraig Harrington, Charlie Wie, Thongchai Jaidee, KJ Choi and Alvaro Quiros.

Tan Sri Megat Zaharuddin explained: “Since the first year of the sponsorship, it has been our goal to try and bring the best players we can from the European Tour and Asian Tour to our shores. The 22 Malayasians we got into the field each time would have benefitted tremendously from this competition. Obviously, we are still waiting for a Malaysian to win it.”

On KLGCC’s appointment as the host venue, Tan Sri Megat Zaharuddin commented: “KLGCC provided the backdrop to a superb finish this year and we are pleased it will once again be the host. The Maybank Malaysian Open is a world-class tournament and it is only fitting that it is hosted at a premier venue like KLGCC.”

Meanwhile, Malaysian Golf Association (MGA) president Admiral (R) Tan Sri Mohd Anwar Mohd Nor, said: “The Maybank Malaysian Open is without doubt among the most prestigious tournaments in this region. We have continued to grow bigger and better, with more top-draw players making the Maybank Malaysian Open a ‘must play’ event due to its world-class status.”

KLGCC’s General Manager, Steven Thielke was honoured that the club has once again been given the privilege of hosting the Maybank Malaysian Open this year. “It is certainly an honour for the club to be the host for the fifth consecutive year. The Maybank Malaysian Open is a world-class event and we will endeavour to deliver our best for this tournament.”

Meanwhile, tournament promoters GlobalOne confirmed the prize purse will remain at US$2.75 million for the 53rd edition of the event, which is jointly sanctioned by the Asian Tour and European Tour.

The Maybank Malaysian Open was the first tournament in Asia to be co-sanctioned by The European and Asian Tours in 1999, the year Gerry Norquist took home the title.

More details and information on the 2014 Maybank Malaysian will be announced at a later date. Keep abreast with the latest news at and connect with us via Facebook at or Twitter at